Hauptinhaltsbereich

Glossary

Here you can find some selected terms. For more detailed information, we recommend the glossary of the Association of Private Equity and Venture Capital Companies (BVK).

Co-financing

At least two investors invest in one company. These investors can be investment companies, private individuals or industrial partners. With several investors, one of the companies acts as the lead investor and actively shapes and manages the investment, often co-ordinating interaction between the co-investor and the company.

Due diligence

A detailed examination and assessment of a potential company as a basis for an investment decision. The aim is to identify and avoid at an early point in time potential economic, technical and legal risks during future business activities.

Exit

Refers to the investor's exit from an investment by selling the investor's stake. This can take place through an IPO (going public), by selling to an industrial or strategic investor (trade sale), by selling to another financial investor (secondary purchase) or by selling the shares to the former shareholder (buy back). A departure from a portfolio due to technical or economic insolvency is also an exit.

Fund

Another word for capital. A fund is a money collection point for investors. Assets are formed and managed in a fund for a specific purpose.

ICT

Abbreviation for Information and Communication Technology.

LOI (Letter of Intent)

Refers to a written declaration submitted prior to an investment announcing the intention on the part of the investor and of the company to be invested in to enter into an investment agreement. This letter of intent already lays down material parts of the contract, such as financing volume, acquisition of shares, co-determination, etc.

Minority interest

The interest in equity is less than 50 percent.

Active partnership

In an active partnership, the investor takes over shares in the shareholders' equity and is directly involved in the development of the company's value.

Private equity

This term refers to the investment capital obtained from private investors (usually for a later phase of a company). In a wider sense, private equity is the general term for investment capital prior to the IPO. In addition to venture capital, this also includes mezzanine financing and buy outs.

Public private partnership

This term refers to co-operation between public and private partners.

Silent partnership

The investor does not acquire shares in the company's equity. In a typical silent partnership, the investor does not participate in the company's losses, unlike in the case of an atypical silent partnership. Fixed and variable fees are agreed to for silent partnerships.

USP (Unique Selling Proposition)

This term refers to a company's unique selling proposition. A company with a technology or product USP has a potential edge over competitors.

Venture capital

This term refers to risk and investment capital. Venture capital is invested in non-listed, innovative companies with strong growth in the form of fully liable equity capital or equity-like instruments. The provision of venture capital is primarily dependent on the company's growth prospects and the resultant returns. Venture capital is used to finance the early stages of a company, growth phases and for special financing needs. This form of financing is limited.

Hauptinhaltsbereich

Lexikon

Sie finden hier einige ausgewählte Begriffe. Für weitergehende Informationen empfehlen wir das Glossar des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Kapitalgesellschaften - German Private Equity and Venture Capital Association e.V. (BVK)

Co-Finanzierung

Mindestens zwei Investoren beteiligen sich an einem Unternehmen. Dabei kann es sich um Beteiligungsgesellschaften, Privatpersonen oder industrielle Partner handeln. Im Fall mehrerer Beteiligungsgesellschaften wird eine der Gesellschaften zum Lead-Investor. Dieser übernimmt bei der Strukturierung und Betreuung des Engagements eine aktivere Rolle, und koordiniert häufig das Zusammenspiel mit dem Co-Investor und Unternehmen.

Due Dilligence

Eine detaillierte Prüfung und Bewertung eines potentiellen Beteiligungsunternehmens als Grundlage für die Investmententscheidung. Ziel ist es, potentielle, wirtschaftliche, technische und juristische Risiken hinsichtlich der zukünftigen Geschäftstätigkeit frühzeitig zu erkennen und zu vermeiden.

Exit

Ausstieg eines Investors aus einer Beteiligung durch Veräußerung seines Anteils. Dies kann erfolgen durch einen Börsengang (Going Public), Verkauf an einen industriellen oder strategischen Investor (Trade Sale), Verkauf an einen anderen Finanzinvestor (Secondary Purchase) oder durch Rückkauf der Anteile durch die Altgesellschafter (Buy Back). Auch ein Portfolioabgang auf Grund einer technisch oder wirtschaftlich begründeten Insolvenz ist ein Exit.

Fonds

Französische Bezeichnung für Kapital. Ein Fonds ist eine Geldsammelstelle für Kapitalanleger. In einem Fonds werden Vermögenswerte für einen bestimmten Zweck gebildet und verwaltet.

IuK-Technologie/ ICT

Abkürzung für Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie; engl. information and communication technology

LOI (Letter of Intent)

Englische Bezeichnung für eine schriftlich abgegebene Erklärung im Vorfeld einer Beteiligung, in der die Absicht der Beteiligungsgesellschaft und des Unternehmens zum Abschluss eines Beteiligungsvertragswerkes bekundet wird. In dieser Absichtserklärung sind bereits wesentliche Vertragsbestandteile wie Finanzierungsvolumen, Anteilserwerb, Mitbestimmung u. ä. festgelegt.

Minderheitsbeteiligung

Die Beteiligung am Stammkapital liegt unter 50 Prozent.

Offene Beteiligung

Der Investor wird bei einer offenen Beteiligung durch Übernahme von Anteilen des Stamm- bzw. Grundkapitals Mitgesellschafter. Er partizipiert unmittelbar an der Entwicklung des Unternehmenswertes.

Private Equity

Englische Bezeichnung für das von Privatanlegern beschaffte Beteiligungskapital (i. d. R. für spätere Unternehmensphasen). Im weiteren Sinn ist Private Equity der Oberbegriff für vorbörsliches Beteiligungskapital. Er umfasst neben Venture Capital auch Mezzanine-Finanzierungsinstrumente und Buy Outs.

Public Private Partnership

Angelsächsische Bezeichnung für eine Kooperation öffentlicher und privater Partner.

Stille Beteiligung

Der Investor übernimmt keine Anteile am Stamm- bzw. Grundkapital eines Unternehmens. Im Fall einer typisch stillen Beteiligung nimmt der Beteiligungsgeber nicht an Verlusten des Unternehmens teil, anders als im Fall einer atypisch stillen Beteiligung. Für stille Beteiligungen werden feste und variable Entgelte vereinbart.

USP (Unique Selling Proposition)

Englische Bezeichnung für ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal eines Unternehmens. Ein Unternehmen mit einem USP im Bereich Technologie oder Produkt verfügt über einen potentiellen Wettbewerbsvorteil.

Venture Capital

Englische Bezeichnung für Risiko- bzw. Beteiligungskapital. Venture Capital wird in nicht börsennotierte, wachstumsträchtige, innovative Unternehmen in Form von vollhaftendem Eigenkapital oder eigenkapitalähnlichen Finanzierungsinstrumenten investiert. Die Bereitstellung von Venture Capital wird in erster Linie von den Wachstumschancen des Unternehmens und der daraus resultierenden Rendite abhängig gemacht. Venture Capital wird zur Finanzierung früher Unternehmensphasen, Wachstumsphasen sowie zu besonderen Finanzierungsanlässen verwendet. Die Finanzierung ist zeitlich begrenzt.